Get a strong legal ally in your corner by calling Snowmass Law for top-notch counsel and aggressive representation.
Harassment is one of the broadest charges a person could face in the Centennial State. It’s often used against individuals when the district attorney or police can’t find other criminal offenses to pursue. While many issues that result in harassment charges are considered minor, some of them can still bring forth life-changing consequences.
In some cases, harassment charges can hurt your employment chances. There’s also a chance for some penalties to lead to probation or jail time. In other words, the stakes are high, and it’s best if you seek legal help from our well-experienced criminal defense attorney to protect your rights. Our professionals can build the strongest possible defense to protect you and have the judge drop or reduce the charges.
At Snowmass Law, we provide top-notch legal support to defend the criminally accused. If you’re charged with harassment, we can provide you with legal counsel and representation to help you protect your life and future. We understand that going through legal disputes, including harassment charges, can be taxing in the worst way possible, so we’re here to help.
Understanding Colorado's Harassment Laws
Under the Colorado harassment statute, CRS 19-8-111, harassment has two elements. The first one is that the perpetrator intends to alarm, annoy, or harass another person—the victim. The second is that the perpetrator takes one of the following actions:
1. Striking, shoving, kicking, or subjecting another person to physical contact.
2. Making an obscene remark or gesture directed to another person in public.
3. Following another person in a public place.
4. Repeatedly calling with no intention of legitimate conversation.
5. Initiating communication in a way that invades another person’s privacy.
6. Repeatedly taunting another person in a way that provokes an unlawful response.
7. Making threatening or obscene comments over the phone or the internet.
In sum, harassment is a broad offense that can take place either online or in person, by actions or through words.
The penalty for harassment offenses varies depending on the charges. For instance, harassment that involves making obscene gestures or remarks in public places is considered a petty offense that carries a penalty of 10 days in jail and/or up to $300 in fines.
On the other hand, following someone in public and unlawfully touching are both considered class 1 misdemeanor and carry 364 in days jail and/or up to $1000 in fines.
Take note that harassment is always considered a class 1 misdemeanor if it’s done to harass other people because of their religion, ancestry, sexual orientation, national origin, actual or perceived race, and physical and or mental disability. Victims of any form of harassment can bring lawsuits, especially if there’s property damage or injury.
What We Do to Protect Your Rights
At Snowmass Law, we understand that going through criminal charges alone can be physically and emotionally draining. It’s for this reason that we provide top-notch legal support. We approach every client with a focus on integrity, advocacy, and compassion. With us working for and with you, the best possible outcome is guaranteed.
Our criminal defense attorney understand that a conviction for harassment is serious. We are always ready to face such charges head-on. We will:
- examine every evidence collected by law enforcement and prosecution;
- look for witnesses that could help increase the chances of a not-guilty verdict; and
- vigorously negotiate with the prosecutor assigned to your case to have your criminal charges dismissed or deferred.
Contact Snowmass Law Today
Protect your rights and future by having a dedicated and experienced attorney in your corner.
When you have us providing you with aggressive and effective legal representation, you are sure to come out on top. If you have inquiries regarding our services, feel free to contact us.